Ryanlo

AH veteran
Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Australia/NZ
Hunted
USA New Zealand
Rifle came with a leupold VX-111 1.5-5x20. It works ok. Crosshairs are a little thin for my liking. At the DSC show I was looking at the trijicon 1-6x24 accupoint. Very bright and really helped my eyes get on target fast. Is it worth the extra $1,000 for the trijicon? Any other ideas or scopes to look at?

The leupold has tally rings. Do they make a fast disconnect set of rings that work good? Any ideas what to sell the leupold scope for?

I have no experience with the Trijicon. Several on the board have expressed opinions regarding various scopes and values. For rings/bases, I prefer (at least how they were made 15 years ago) the Leupold QD rings, primarily since they tightened with a forward push, which meant that when the rifle recoiled the tendency would be to tighten rather than loosen the rings. Others on the board say that's a matter of having the lever properly tightened prior to the shot- so I guess you pick the one that you like best.

I love the Leupold vx6 line with the illuminated plex reticle. I just put QD talley rings and bases on my 375. Even though I had a issue with the screw clearance in the base, which I fixed. I really love the setup. Put 30 rds through the rifle today, halfway through I took the scope off and put it back on and seemed to be almost dead on at 100 yds.

Certainly nothing wrong with a leupold and the newer v6 have lighted recticles. If you wanted to spend more money you could go Swarovski with lighted circle dot reticle, or one of the other European brands aka leica or zeiss. I personally have no experience with a trijicon scope. Since it is a 404j and a dangerous game gun I would put a Swarovski with a lighted cirle dot z6i 1-6x. You will never regret a Swarovski but the cost will hurt for a little while(y)