Sako AV Carbine .338 wm. My new to me.....

Mekaniks

Gold supporter
AH legend
Reaction score
Media
Articles
Hunting reports
Africa
USA/Canada
Australia/NZ
Member of
SCI, RMEF
Hunted
South Africa, Namibia,....AK, WY, WA, ID, FL, SD, TX, HI
A couple weeks ago I'm browsing GB and came across this Sako AV carbine at a local (anc) gun shop. I happened to be in town so I stopped for a hands on look. The barrel is bright and shiny, the feed ramp looks brand new, a few small minor scratches in the stock that appear to safe dings. I am far from a Sako expert but it appears to be all original, with sako rings, butt pad, sights, and likely shot very little over its 35 year life.
Some horse trading and it comes home with me....
When I got it home I started to put a Swaro Z3 3-9-42 but the rings were to low and it hit barrel.
Oh well...Installed an old Burris 3-9x40 that I have, grabbed some 200 gr TSX hand loads that I had for a different rifle, and we are off to the range to see how it shoots.
BAM it shoots really nice! OK, accurate rifles get to stay, everything else can kick rocks.
I backorder a new Swaro Z6i and some 30mm rings. I also order a new Leupold VX 3-9-40 for it while the waiting for the ship load of Swaro scopes to arrive......
While I am waiting for the Leupold to show up I happen to find 3 boxes (50 ea) of Nosler 225g Partition bullets on the shelf at a ranch and home store that carries reloading supplies. Yehaw!
I work up the 225g Partitions with Reloader 19 using the old Burris scope. Good groups, mess with COL and powder charge a little, the Leupold finally shows up in the mail.
Change scopes and get the Leupold dialed in.
Max powder charge and we are shooting <1.5 groups off the bench at an average of 2726 fps.
I think I just found me a new plains game rifle:D

tempImagefXtEla.jpg
tempImagedmyHPv.jpg

Fine looking rifle. I had one just like it i .375 H&H and two friends had them in .338.