Reloading

Calhoun

AH enthusiast
Reaction score
Media
Member of
SCI N.E. Wisconsin Chapter - WisNRA
Hello out there! I read lot of replies and it seems there are reloaders out there, but no one wants to start a thread! I've been reloading for almost 20 years.... Anybody want to chat!!

Sure.........I started reloading in 1972. Still find it interesting and load for about a dozen different cartridges at present, as well as 12 and 20 gauge. Some of the newer equipment has certainly made life easier and some of the routines less tedious. The powders and bullets available today are wonderful and endless as there are new ones coming on the market constantly.

Lots of new cartridges the last decade, but...........and I am sure this is a sign of my age creeping up or my generally poor attitude..............not that many of them cause me to even take a second look. There are one or two exceptions, but I have yet to buy any of them.

I have noticed a drop in interest in reloading locally as the ammo manufacturers are really cranking out some quality stuff and offering lots of bullet choices. Also, although I have helped a few young shooters get into it in recent years, the mindset of many is for the quick fix and instant gratification....................so many of them do not have the patience or deep rooted interest in ballistics and terminal performance, and prefer to just buy the premium ammunition offerings.

Things change.

l

I have learned the joy of reloading from my dad when I was still a young boy.

In South Africa we are limited to the amount of different weapons we can have especially now after the new fire arms act came into being in 2006.

I reload all my own ammunition except for 12GA and 22lr. Its just to expensive to walk into a gun shop buy a couple of boxes of rounds and go to the shooting range.

There is still such a lot of things I want to learn when it comes to the finer art of reloading that I would enjoy all the inputs from you guys here....