AH senior member
Reaction score
Media
Articles
Member of
NRA Benefactor, Freemasons, Shrine, Eagle Scout,
Hunted
US
Had an extra reloading press so I figured WTH, figure out a portable press and this is what I came up with. It looks like it would wobble but does not. I made the legs and turned them in lathe and measured them with very long caliper and they are all within about .005" IIRC.

Cap screws hold them in place. The heads are exposed on the understand and sink into the carpet base and prevents the top side from moving. It is tall so I can do my loading standing up. I gave up on sitting down to reload many years ago. A Doc told me the longer you stand when you are young the longer you can stand when you are older and this is based on sound mechanical principle "When you legs go your rearend is not far behind." So I have been standing to load for last 40 years.

The vise is secured by bolts in tapped holes ground of smooth on bottom.

4mFaIECh.jpg

Note the indents in carpet the bolt heads make as indicated in fronts of the fired cases.

Note the base plate if laying on sections of rubber back commercial carpet and I can learn on it and it doesn't move on that steel table. Note I put carry handles on it so it is easier to move and placed them so the load would balance when I picked it up and if another helped carry it.

ttSecdvh.jpg
AIywoBKh.jpg

The top plate is drilled and tapped 7/8X14 so I can screw in extra dies.

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: JLF
Hummer, none of the links worked for me!

Me either when I clicked a link it took me to some strange site saying zoink and says there are no pictures there.

Dido

Let me try something else. It has started to give problems in the last month.

I may have to go take more pics.

Last edited:
Please try upload pics this sound interesting.

OK lets try this.

Port Reload Assy.JPG

Attachments

• Port Reload Assy.zip
    1.3 MB · Views: 83
Last edited by a moderator: