Planning 1st Plains game hunt

btpierce

Reaction score
Deals & offers
My wife and I are planning our first hunt to Africa. It will probably be 2012 and will be with a rifle. The four main animals we are after are Kudu, Gemsbok, Zebra, and Impala.We were thinking 5-7 days hunting. We would like to hunt S. Africa or Namibia. The only animal she really wants to shoot is the Gemsbok. I would like any advice on the best area to go and outfitters to use. I have talked to a few outfitters already but am open to any ideas. Since I am new to planning for a hunt like this any advice on any part of the planning would be helpful and very much appreciated. Thank you and i look forward to hearing from you.

Brodie

You have lots of great options. I will send you a PM.

Welcome to the forum btpierce!

Sent you a pm.

Best Regards
Louis van Bergen

Hi Brodie,
The animals that you list are the exact same animals that I had on my list for my first African hunt. Unfortunatly, I didn't know about this site at the time that I booked. I say unfortunatly but my hunt really worked out well.
The wife of my outfitter is a tour guide and helped us set up all of our non-hunting activities. My wife also went touring with her on days that she didn't want to hunt.
We hunted in the Eastern Cape and I will connect you with my outfitter if you wish.
I hope that you have allowed some time for touring if you choose S. Africa. It is an incredible country.
Cheers, Mike

First off welcome to the Forum.
The number one thing is to do a lot of research. There are tons of resources on this site and on the web to sift through the dozens of possible locations and hundreds of outfitters.

Heres how i planned my first,
Buy a small notebook and outline in it what you are looking for in a safari. Then start breaking it down even further. Eventuly this will help you narrow down your location. Here are a few questions i would start with:
The animals i want to hunt
Does it matter if there indigenous to the area?