Alistair

AH fanatic
Reaction score
Media
Articles
Hunted
Scotland, Ireland & England
Hello folks,

Now I'm settling in here in the USA, the next item on the agenda is to start doing some shooting!

I've never owned or shot a pistol before (because UK) and so I'd like to pick something up to have a play with.

Right now this will purely be for plinking and practice, although longer term I might have a look into some practical competition disciplines like IPSC or the like.

Right now I'm thinking that I want the following features:

9x19mm
Full size
Decent capacity (double stack) magazines
Good trigger
Capability to fit a red dot sight if I wish

I'm fairly flexible on budget, but as I'm a newb I reckon $1500 or under would be a decent limit and I can always upgrade later on if I wish.

What would people suggest?

Thanks!
Al.

Sig P320 full size. Checks all of your boxes. I prefer the M17 model with thumb safety. Outstanding ergonomics, great sight picture and a wonderful trigger. Easy pistol to shoot and train with.

There are too many good options available right now. Visit a shop, feel them in your hand and dry fire them.

Well there's the Glock, of course. Not really my style but it might be yours. Couldn't say about the trigger on account of, well, not being my style of pistol.

The new Springfield Armory Hi-Power clone would fit your 9mm Para/fullsize/capacity/price criteria, but they're fairly new on the market and I'm not sure how the trigger would be. And there's no red-dot sight capability.

I believe you can find an HK USP or the upgraded model in 9mm under your budget, or a FNX-9. SIG-Sauer 9mm models, too. But not all of them will fit each criterion. The Glock and RTG's suggestion of the P320 are the only one I know of that'll tick off every box.