Media
Hunting reports
Africa
Europe
Member of
British Association of Shooting and Conservation
Hunted
England, Scotland, Namibia and Finland
I am looking at two. 308 rifles; one is a Parker Hale M81 which is in good condition and has a new barrel by the makers. The other is a Brno 601 which I am told is about 40 years old but hasn't had much use. I have no experience of either make, so any views on how the rifles compare with regard to build quality etc. would be appreciated. It will be used for plains game.

Last edited:
I have no experience with a Parker hale. My experience with the Brno is that the safety is reversed. Push forward for safe, pull back for fire. Nothing wrong with it. Just can be confusing if your other rifles work the opposite way. Not sure if this was the case on all Bruno's or just the couple I have used. Have also seen an early model cz 550 that was this way.

Don't want to miss an opportunity at an 18 inch bushbuck because the safety was on.

All the best in your decision.

Whichever one feels best in your hands and comes up well for a standing shot. Make sure that the rifle is empty, pick it up, close your eyes, shoulder it and then open your eyes. You can change scope mounting height, within limits but stock modifications tend to be more challenging.

I am a Brno/CZ fan but Parker Hale made some good rifles and hunters have taken many fine trophies with them. Also, I reckon that the Brno safety is the right way around. The forward to fire arrangement was adopted for box-lock guns, in order too make them idiot-proof when being carried in one hand with the gun closed and loaded. More proof (if needed) that shot gunners should leave the booze alone, till after the shoot.

Push forward for safe, pull back for fire. Nothing wrong with it. Just can be confusing if your other rifles work the opposite way.