JPbowhunter

AH fanatic
Reaction score
Media
Articles
Hunting reports
Australia/NZ
Gday all,

Not yet set but I'm leaning towards trying the 156gn Norma oryx for my soon to be 275 Rigby.

I've had no experience with them before but interested in hearing other people's thoughts on the round and how they have performed in any calibre.

Cheers

I think the 156 gr Norma Oryx is what @Red Leg likes in his 275 Rigby. I have a box on order and will be giving them a try in my new 7x57.

Depending on what game and distances you will be hunting the 156 Gr. Orex bullet is a good choice. Maybe not optimal but more than adequate.

As most Swedes I’ve used the Oryx a bit. I’ve shot moose, fallow deer and roe deer with it in .30-06.
Have worked very well. No bullets recovered, but all animals died without any drama. Longest shot has probably been 80m.

Have not shot any animal with my 7x57R, only on targets and with Norma Factory ammo. No issues with the accuracy.
My dad has shoot one moose with the Oryx in .30-06 and my mom one with Oryx in 308W.
I like the Oryx, but I do not have enough experience to make a ranking list, comparing it with others. Within the typical distances for a 7x57 I would think the Oryx would be a great companion to that caliber and weight, 156 or 170 whichever works best for you and your rifle.

//Gus

I've posted in various places about the Oryx.
I used the 200gr Oryx in my 300wm and it was a good combination. very accurate and none of the animals argued about performance...

Yeah sorry it'll be an all round bullet to take everything from hog deer at 30m to sambar out to 350m. The latter is where things need to be most precise. Most will be red and fallow deer between 50-200m.

There's no buff or anything like that on my horizons unfortunately! So i guess a relation for the American guys would be something to an elk size and for Africa no idea! maybe a kudu?