New member from Kentucky

Welcome to AH KentuckyWindage!

Welcome to AH from a fellow Kentuckian. Lots of great information available from very knowledgeable hunters on the site.

Hey guys, I’m new to AH and am planning a trip to South Africa in the next few years. I’m currently building a rifle on an old Mauser action for dangerous and plains game in .416 Taylor. If anyone has experience with shooting and reloading this round let me know!

Hi @KentuckyWindage ...

I embarked on a similar project a few years back and built a 416 Taylor on a Brazilian Mauser action. It was a fun project and the end result was a very nice DG rifle that I really enjoy shooting.

I toyed around with a couple of different powders and projectiles.. but ultimately settled on IMR 4064 pushing a 400gr Barnes TSX at about 2325 fps (similar velocity to many common 416 Rigby loads)..

Ive got 50 pieces of norma 416 Taylor head stamped brass that I'll use when I take the rifle to Africa (considering taking it this july for cape buff cow..).. and another 200+ pieces of different 458 Win Mag head stamped brass that I have resized to 416 Taylor....

I screwed up a few pieces of the 458 WM brass when resizing.. I should have lubed better and just taken more time.. but overall the task of resizing wasn't difficult or a big deal... and at the time I had a guy at a range in Virginia that was selling me once fired 458 WM brass for a really good price.. So I bought all he had both times he contacted me to let me know he had some on hand..

My rifle shoots norma factory ammo well.. and shoots the barnes handloads mentioned above exceptionally well (1" or smaller groups at 50 yards all day long from sticks)...