Need advice on Hunting attire for Southern Cape hunt June 2020...how cold?

Cody hunt4life

AH senior member
Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
NRA, SCI, Texas Trophy Hunters Association
Hunted
USA, Mexico, South Africa
I have a hunt booked with Huntershill in Mid June of next year (13th-23rd)and before I purchase the clothes I intend to hunt in I was hoping for some input/advice on what to expect temperature wise during this particular time of the year as well as what colors are recommended for this area in this particular season. I don’t want to over bulk with my hunting clothing but I also don’t want to freeze as well. Can anyone tell me what I should expect regarding temperatures and recommendations on best colors? I hear the rides out early morning can be pretty chilly but wasn’t sure if it’s moderate during the mid day. This will be my first hunt in SA so I’m a newbie in the African game. I also read that it’s illegal to wear camo in town? Because of that I am second guessing bringing my current hunting gear. I live in Texas and hunt here all the way to Alaska. Just don’t want to pack or bring anything I don’t need.

Layers are your friend, with a nice large-ish day pack to hold the layers as you shed them. Best advice I can give you other than that is to ask Greg. Camo probably isn't necessary, but subdued greens, browns, and khakis should be fine.

Accuweather shows June daytime highs in Port Elizabeth near 70, lows around 50. Not much different than deer hunting weather down here. But like I said, check with Greg. I haven't hunted with him yet, but I have corresponded with him, and all reports on him are good.