Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
SCI DSC
Hunted
USA, Namibia
I had the pleasure of taking my first safari this past month with Kowas Safaris in Namibia.

Wow, what a complete surprise, completely beating my expectations. The land, the people, the travel.

It was booked as a cull/management hunt. My thoughts on this was that I'm a rookie, I want to learn how to hunt, how to stalk. What better way than to book a hunt with multiple opportunities to practice and train. I've hunted the state of Oregon, but this was something completely different.

Travel was difficult. I flew Emirates out of Seattle. I booked a business class seat for the long hauls (SEA-DXB and DXB-JNB). It was a treat for my upcoming 50th birthday. Flights were fantastic. The experience at DXB was fantastic. Grabbed a shower and some ch0w.

The problem with the flying is that I have a major problem with sleeping on an aircraft. The ambient noise, the other people... What are they doing? Are they watching me? Ahh, paranoia the destroyer.

Emirates, yeah, I can't think of anyway to fly long-haul other than them. Business class was fantastic. A380 on the leg back from JNB to DXB was nothing less than luxury.

To the hunting. I've been seeing a few things here recently on cull hunting. Shooting out of the truck/bakkie. It didn't happen here. Other than the extra warthogs, nothing was shot off the vehicle. Some warthogs were taken from the vehicle, the others from stand/foot. About 50/50 I would say.

So I had a deal for ten animals. When I arrived the targets were for Oryx and Red Hartebeest. The warthogs were a "bonus", due to a local rancher who wanted the hogs our of their cattle feed pens which disrupted the cattle feeding operation so needed during a drought.