My First Man Eating Royal Bengal Tiger

Major Khan

AH legend
Reaction score
Media
Articles
This is my first article on these forums .And l have thus , decided that it should be about the first royal Bengal tiger which l had ever hunted in my life. I will start with a little prologue of sorts and then relate the story , along with photographs in 3 separate posts. If the members of this site enjoy the story , then l will write a few more.
I was a professional shikaree from 1961 to 1970 in Nagpur in India , working for the shikar outfitters , Allwyn Cooper Limited . This was the oldest and the largest of the 26 shikar outfitting companies operating in India until 1972. My good friend , colleague and fellow member of this site , Sargeant Kawshik Rahman was a professional shikaree in Darjeeling in India , working for the outfitters, Sundar Raj Shikar Limited.
This story predates even my professional shikaree career by 1 year , as it is from 1960 .
In June of 1960 , a man eating royal Bengal tiger was menacing the villagers of Nagpur .
It had already killed 7 people , including , but not limited to: a maid servant , three children and the driver of a bullock cart. The local government had declared the brute a man eater and what this meant was that a shikaree did not need a license to hunt that royal Bengal tiger down ( as opposed to normal hunting , where each shikaree could legally acquire a permit for only one tiger every season , which was seven months long ) .

At the time , l had not killed a single animal more dangerous than a wild boar . I was only a 19 year old young lad at the time . In the out skirts of Nagpur , l used to hunt cheetal deer , sambhur deer , hog deer , ducks , cranes , geese , rabbits and various land birds , such as grouse , chukar , pigeons , quails and the grey Indian partridge . Frequently , l would often shoot a wild boar too , and my Christian and Hindoo friends would always welcome some fresh pork to their supper table .