M98 bolt question

Mctrigger

AH member
Reaction score
Media
Picked up a used husky 9.3x62. But noticed some possible wear that may be concerning on the upper bolt lug. As well as possibly a worn or chipped extractor face. I’m new to Mauser actions. Any advice would be great. Is it a concern? Locks up fairly tight.

ECDECA98-C2A7-4272-A2AE-96215BC74B56.png
FBC679EC-3680-44D1-9CBD-3DDAEBF3063D.png

Last edited by a moderator:
Take it to a qualified gunsmith and get his opinion. My gunsmith routinely repairs minor discrepancies to Mauser style "actions."

the extractor show evidence of ignorant use.
someone has chambered a round and tried to force the extractor over the rim rather than feeding the round from the magazine.
the very design that gives surety of extraction has through misuse chipped the edge of the claw off.
the rub mark on the lug suggests a manufacturing shortcoming.
if the rifle works ok for you and is accurate enough, go ahead and use it.
if it were mine i would look for a new extractor, as they are easy to replace.
the bolt problem could involve machining the receiver, the bolt or both, but is probably not a safety issue.
such things are why in the past mausers were considered "clunkers" compared to say a rem 700.should this happen in a rem 700, necessary machine work is relatively simple, but what a mauser has to offer extra is probably worth it.
from an economic point of view, the locking lug is now not perfect and cannot be returned to that condition, so you might be better off to replace the rifle with a better example.
then you have the moral issue of how you describe it to a potential purchaser.
bruce.

further looking at that bolt makes me feel that it was never finished properly.
this is not in line with the general opinion of husky workmanship.
this raises the question of whether the bolt is original.
or a monday morning special.
bruce.