Looking for apprenticeship job

charlesarnette

Reaction score
Hunted
Zambia
Hello all,

I am a college student living in Alabama and Texas. I am interested in being a PH after college. I am looking for a job this summer, working for a PH. Since I am looking to learn the craft, I am willing to work for nothing. I just want to be in Africa and get experience. If anyone knows an outfitter looking for something like this, please let me know.

Hello all,

I am a college student living in Alabama and Texas. I am interested in being a PH after college. I am looking for a job this summer, working for a PH. Since I am looking to learn the craft, I am willing to work for nothing. I just want to be in Africa and get experience. If anyone knows an outfitter looking for something like this, please let me know.
I don’t personally know of any…but I wish you the best in your endeavor. Hapoy adventures and welcome to AH. Sue

:S Welcome: Good luck with your search

I had two college friends who did exactly what you want to do about 18 years ago. Both went to South Africa. I think one only lasted less than a year, then got a job that paid a lot better, the other ended up in Zambia, I think guiding photographic safaris.

I have only seen them once in the intervening period. I think it was a lot harder than they expected, but rewarding and I really hope it goes well for you.

I think that they mentioned that Zimbabwe offered the best training but you needed to apply for citizenship to qualify and South Africa was more accessible. I might be wrong on this though, it was a long time ago.

Hello charlesarnette,

Khomas Highland Hunting Safaris of Namibia, welcomes you to the greatest forum on earth.

When you have time, take a look into our web site.
We sometimes take on a helper or two who, are given various tasks, in and out of camp.
It is an excellent way to live in and work for a safari lodge or camp.
I’m not sure about the PH Trainee idea but it cannot hurt to ask.