Looking for an Elk hunt

Discussion in 'Hunting USA & Canada' started by GA Hunter, Nov 28, 2018.

1. GA Hunter

GA Hunter AH Enthusiast

Video/Photo:
    Recently I've been considering an elk hunt for 2020. I won't be able to make it to DSC or SCI this year so I thought it would be a good idea to come here and poll the group knowing many of us do more than just hunt Africa. Any and all input is welcome so please chime in.
    • Prefer a wilderness hunt. Pack in on horseback, tents, etc.
    • Not looking for a world record just a good representative bull.
    • I don't have a preference for where, other than to say I want to keep it in the US unless there is a compelling reason to go to Canada.
    • Secondary species or activities would be nice but certainly not a deal breaker if nothing else is available. I know that states like Idaho allow you to hunt 4 or 5 different species if you are willing to buy a tag for them.
    Thanks in advance!!
    BD

2. gillettehunter

gillettehunter AH ENABLER AH Legend

Video/Photo:
    Hunted:
    Namibia, Kyrgyzstan(2) South Africa(2) New Zealand
    Call John Porter at Morning Creek Outfitters in WY. I hunted bighorn sheep with him and saw a lot of elk. 6 years ago their average on elk was close to a 350 bull which is darn good. His camp is around a 7 mile pack in if I remember correctly.
    Bruce

3. GA Hunter

GA Hunter AH Enthusiast

Video/Photo:
    Thank you Sir. Will reach out to him and see what he has to offer.
    BD

4. flatwater bill

flatwater bill AH Fanatic

Video/Photo:
    Member of:
    NRA endowment member/Life member
    Hunted:
    NAMIBIA, RSA, KYRYG, KAZAKSTAN, MOZAMBIQUE,MEXICO, BOLIVIA, PERU, BRAZIL, ARGENTINA, CANADA, NEW ZEALAND, AUSTRALIA, SPAIN,