Reaction score
Media
Articles
Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
SCI, NRA, DSC
Hunted
South Africa, Argentina, Virginia and North Carolina (USA)
I have been presented, through personal friends, the opportunity to brown bear hunt in Russia next year. Specifically, in Kamchatka Peninsula. I would love to hear from those more knowledgeable and experienced regarding such a hunt. Lets hear the good, the bad and the ugly. Thanks! :)

"Personal friends", i.e.. been there done that friends I hope.!?

The bad: Pressure (insistence) to shoot anything with fur on it. Meaning very small bears.

I have no experience or knowledge of hunting there but I would go for it. I'm an adventurous type tho. Good luck and I hope it works out for you.

Are your friends international hunters and do they have a lot of good experience setting up hunts like this? How is their success on hunts like this? Even if friends recommend the hunt, do your own due diligence and vet the outfitter and agent yourself.

I haven't hunted Russia/Kamchatka.

Some of the things I have heard through acquaintances on their hunt:

-Camp is rough.
-Helicopter/Trucks/Snowmobiles are old and tired. Not sure if I like old and tired helicopters.
-Food is average.
-What Brickburn said. Know how to judge bears and don't rely completely on your guide. You probably don't want a 4.5' brownie.

That being said you have a chance for a great adventure at a reasonable price. If things work out I hope you have a blast! And of course, we want to hear all about it.;)