How large do you estimate this Blue Wildebeest bull?

Nico van der Merwe

Reaction score
Website
www.blesfontein.co.za
Deals & offers
Media
Member of
Cape Hunt and nature
Hunted
South Africa, Namibia
Hi

This is my dominant blue wildebeest bull, I am planning on darting and measuring him next week. Just for interest sake, how large do you estimate his spread to be (Rawland ward)?

IMG_0674.JPG
IMG_0672.JPG
IMG_0673.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm no expert, so I won't judge, but I do know that he is in the PH wouldn't need to tell me to shoot class. :A Banana:

he would giving 30 inches wide ,at a guess
hard to tell with his ears pricked foreward
same thing as royal , we would be pushing each other out of the road to get him in the scope

I'd have to agree with bluey, he's really nice.

I would say his ears are probably 24 inches wide or so. That could put him as high as 33 inches.

I was told when we were glassing bwb, in the east cape , that the ears are on average 26 inches wide .
an inch over lapp on each horn is getting up there and pretty bloody special .......

Wide enough that I would love to have him on my wall. Forrest

Amateurs opinion - 31"

I love this stuff for whatever demented reason.

A couple of pointers:

1. If a matchbox can fit between the tip of the ear and the inner curve of the horn they are approximately 26”-28”

2. Width between pointed ears = 26 inches.

FYI
This #1 in SCI
blue wildebeest sci #1.jpg

From trophy judging torture. I guesstimated him at 28.5 He was actually 28 inches wide.

Blue Wildebeest judging.jpg

For this guy I am going to say 32.5.

blue w compare.jpg

Looks very similar to one that I hunted in Tanzania years back, so would guess at 33"

lovely bull , hard to judge the size , however I would guess that he is definitely RW , the size of his thighs , shoulders and neck are most impressive.