Hello from the north of Italy

A.S.C.

Reaction score
Hunted
Italy, Sweden
Hi everybody,

I joined the forum because I plan to hunt somewhere in Africa next (european) winter, preferably december 2014. I am a beginner, never travelled in Africa before.

What is the best country for a beginner to hunt in december? Perhaps South Africa? My budget is around 5000 euros, ALL inclusive, you think it is enough? And i cant stay for more than a week. I own a 308 win I hunt with for roedeer fallowdeer reddeer moose etc... but I can afford to buy a 375 h&h, would love to have a reason to buy it:) wish my wife will accept to come with me, that would be an extra from the budget.

I have one year to prepare so I hope I can do it.

Cheers

Good day sir,
Welcome to the forum. The .308Win is a very popular round in Africa and will be sufficient on most plains game, quite comfortably.
With careful planning I'm pretty sure that your budget is good enough to have the trip of a lifetime.
All the best,

Take Care,
Marius Goosen

Welcome to AH, I think if you stick to euro mounts and don't include flights in your hunt price, I think you can have a slendid time in Africa for a week or more.

A S C-
There are ways to have a great first safari on the budget you mention. I have seen offers in South Africa for 5 day hunts (3 full days hunting) and 4 decent animals included for 2400 euros, your wife would be about about 500 euros more. She would have a good time, my wife does. Your 308 is perfect for what you want to do. If I were you I would start to look here on AH for offers where the property is within a reasonable driving distance from usually Joburg South Africa so you won't have to give up hunting days just to get to the property. Your outfitter will then be able to meet you at the airport and drop you back off again at the end of your hunt.