AH veteran
Reaction score
Deals & offers
Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
SCI
Ray,

I am new to the site and am looking for some gunsmithing thoughts. I have an o/u Renato Gamba in .375 that has small cracks where the receiver meets the stock. I am not sure if they need fixing or the stock replacing. Do you know of someone who could look at this for me and do the work?

Second, I have a Merkel .470 that I would really like to put a scope on but it doesnt have rails or anything. Any ideas if it is possible to scope this gun and who would do it?

Finally, I have a winchester model 70 that has been on many trips to africa with me and has been my workhorse gun. I love the gun but the wood is very boring. Do you know of anyone who could upgrade the stock adn customize the gun a bit for me. This is the gun from which most of my great stories were made and I would like to give it an upgrade.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts. If these items are not within your scope I apologize.

Assuming you don't mind a reply from someone else, for wood repair such as you describe, Kieth Kearcher in Bend, OR (google him for his website) is superb, reasonably priced, and miracle of miracles, quick.

The best man in the country to install bases and rings on a German double rifle is J.J. Peradeau at Champlin Arms in Enid, OK. He is exceptional with claw bases and rings.

As I am sure you are aware, you can spend as much as you can imagine on a new stock. I recently had one done by Accurate Innovations (again google their website). Superb quality, innovative bedding, and a lot of options for your model 70 at reasonable cost.

Thanks. I will follow up those leads. This is the second time that JJ in Enid Ok was recomended in the few weeks so he must be the go to guy for the Merkel. I am going to try and find him and ship the gun out. I see fine but have found I do not have the confidence I need with iron sights and I really dont need one more factor of uncertainty in the equation.