Greetings from the Show Me state

S.W. Smith

AH senior member
Reaction score
Member of
NRA
My name is S.W Smith. By trade I am a professional writer. My goal over the next year and a half while I finish my bachelor's degree is to create my own motorcycle adventure and hunting show. I recently got into hunting about 2 months ago and was inspired by Corey Knowlton's appearance on the Joe Rogan Podcast; coupled with a serious binge of Jim Shockey's Uncharted and Solo Hunter.

No one in my family hunted growing-up, and despite shooting bows and guns since I was twelve I never gave hunting much thought. I was never against hunting, but I never considered doing it. I have been fishing since I was a very young child so the concept of catching my own food was never foreign to me. Something sparked inside me recently though with the thought of learning to hunt and becoming a hunter. I have this insatiable drive to immerse myself in the hunting culture and lifestyle. As I have been learning, I have given myself to truly understanding and appreciating the complex and diverse world of hunting.

This fall will be my first hunt ever. I have two different landowners that are going to take me hunting on their property for white-tailed deer, my barber is going to take me turkey hunting during bow season, and I am hoping to get a cougar tag in Washington State when I go to visit family for Christmas.

I decided to join this site after reading, "Death in the Long Grass" by Peter Hathaway Capstick and looking for information about hunting Africa. I lurked for a couple weeks to check it out and was more than excited to see people who not only had deep knowledge of hunting, but shared many of my ideas on hunting ethics. I hope I can be a positive participant in this community and soak-up as much knowledge as possible so I can one day achieve my bigger goal of hunting Africa. Thank you for reading this.

Best regards,

S.W. Smith

petrusg

AH elite
Reaction score
Media
Articles