Website
www.youtube.com
Media
Articles
Hunting reports
USA/Canada
Hunted
Texas, Arkansas, Alaska
Hello from Alaska. My name is Luke. I've enjoyed the forums here for a while so I thought I should sign up and start participating more.

Alaska is pretty different from Africa or even Texas where I used to live. I laughed the other day when teenagers at church said it was "hot" in the summer when it was 60 degrees (F). They don't consider it "cold" till its below zero.

I'm currently modifying a 375 Ruger to be a bit lighter. It will continue to be my all around hunting rifle. I'm also setting up a 358 Winchester to be a lighter "guiding " rifle. I'm not technically a guide (Alaska version of a PH) but I help a lot of kids hunt at work. So a 6 pound rifle for backing them up is the plan.

Last edited:
Giday Luke, welcome to the A H forums.

received_518083875722376.jpeg

Yay I can post pictures! These are my two toys.

Welcome to a really interesting forum. Good for you that you help new hunters get started! I would enjoy reading a report about a hunt you have done in Alaska—especially if it involves bears! Again welcome.

Welcome aboard!

Welcome aboard Alaska Luke. As a Hunter Education Instructor I'd like to hear more about your hunting with kids. Is it an official program or just something you do? What type of action does the 358 Winchester have? I own a Lever Action Winchester Mod. 71 that I understand was / is used as a backup in Alaska. Mine was built in 1936 and still going strong.

Welcome! I hope to visit your great state one day.

Welcome! Interested to hear about your modifications on the 375 Ruger. I have a Ruger Alaskan, stainless, laminated stock and 23 inch barrel. Given the amount of recoil, I like the current weight and wouldn't lighten it up any.

Luke, welcome to the AH forum and thanks for taking kids hunting!

Welcome glad to have ya. Loved hunting Alaska. Enjoy

:S Welcome:

Welcome to AH