Greetings and many questions

gearhound

Reaction score
Hi all, I have been lurking around the forum for a bit and thought it was time to ask some questions. I recently read Steve Robinsons book "How To Become a Professional Hunter in Africa" and a number of other African hunting books (Chapstick's and VanBuskirk) and was wondering how plausible is it for one to come from a foreign land and work as a PH or Game Warden in Africa somewhere? I'm aware that to do that type of work in South Africa you must be a resident but are other countries more accepting of foreigners to those positions? How does one go about applying for an apprenticeship?

A little about me is I have been hunting for over 15 years, only in the U.S. (Elk, Deer, Coyotes etc.). I'm very soon completing a bachelor's degree in wildlife biology.

Any Info/tips/insight would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Welcome to AH! Steve R. is member of AH. He can answer more of your questions. I think its a hard road. I would the SCI or DSC conventions and ask around for a job opportunity.

Welcome to AH gearhound!

Welcome aboard gearhound. enysse's information is as good or better than anything I can say. If you have read Steve's book you know more about it than me already. Steve or one of the other ph's here should be able to help. Good Luck in your future.

Welcome to AH.
There are a host of threads on this topic on AH.

There are countries where you can go to work. Getting an outfitter to take you on will be the biggest chore you encounter.

One of our members jumped in and is now working in the field (jungle really). He is working for CAWA.
He has an amazing story of persistence.

Good luck.

Last edited:
Welcome to Ah, and good luck with your goal !

Welcome to AH.
There are a host of threads on this topic on AH.

There are countries where you can go to work. Getting an outfitter to take you on will be the biggest chore you encounter.