Front sight - hooded or not?

I’ve always removed the hoods from my front sights. I find they interfere with the sight picture on the target.

I’ve always removed the hoods from my front sights. I find they interfere with the sight picture on the target.
i had one on my Westley Ricards DR and hated it given it reduced my field of vision

I don’t mind or notice the hood in my field of vision. I do not like the shade on the front sight. I can notice that at low light.

I've been using Fibre-Optic front sights for many years since they were first introduced, without a sight hood, and have yet to break or damage one (ALL my iron-sighted rifle carry FO sights).

If you buy directly from Williams, they will supply you the correct height front Firesight with either a 5D or FP receiver peep sight in their Levergun Firesight Peep Sight Set.

A solid hood will prevent ambient light from iluminating the FO rod/element, although the Williams hood with the hole cut in it's roof should do the trick for those who just can't go through life unhooded.

I've been using Fibre-Optic front sights for many years since they were first introduced, without a sight hood, and have yet to break or damage one (ALL my iron-sighted rifle carry FO sights).

If you buy directly from Williams, they will supply you the correct height front Firesight with either a 5D or FP receiver peep sight in their Levergun Firesight Peep Sight Set.

A solid hood will prevent ambient light from iluminating the FO rod/element, although the Williams hood with the hole cut in it's roof should do the trick for those who just can't go through life unhooded.