Flashlight advice

I’m sure the Surefire Stiletto Pro is a great flashlight, but for $233 it better do more than light up the night. I manage construction for a living and a good flashlight is part of my EDC and used every day. My flashlight of choice is a Nitecore MH12S, it is USB C rechargeable, has a 1 to 1800 lumen output, a tail mounted on/off switch and a body mounted “mode” button. It has a 45min to 1500hr battery life depending on the output level and it only cost $90 on Amazon. As with all high output LED flashlights the body of the light does get a little warm with extended use at high output but that’s not a bad thing, when your hands are too cold to operate a lighter or strike a ferro rod these flashlights make a great emergency hand warmer.

Fenix E12 v2.0 EDC Flashlight, 160 Lumen with 1x AA Battery and LumenTac Battery Organizer https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08HDL6NWF/

I've used Fenix and Quark ( sp) LEDs for years. Still have all and use them. The Quark has a two lumen moon-beam mode, but that's N/A here.

About 3 years ago I went with the newer model Fenix for EDC since it's much smaller - just barely longer than the AA battery that runs it.

Plus the clip works two ways without reversing anything. Blub down for normal pocket carry. Or blub forward for attaching to the bill of a cap (never used, but handy to have)

I bought a second one and took both to Africa last year. One for nightstand and one for pocket. Both saw use and both will go again next year.

I also had a head mounted light in my backpack, but never used it.

IMO, whatever you take, be sure it's always on your person and not back in the bakie.

Last edited by a moderator: