First experience with the new firearms export system

JamesJ

AH elite
Reaction score
Deals & offers
Media
Hunting reports
USA/Canada
I'm getting ready for a BC bear hunt next month and I was considering taking my gun, so I decided to delve into the new system and get it figured out. Decorum does prevent me from using the words I used last night.

I already have my EIN, so I was good there.

I signed up for the AES, then took the quiz to be certified (nobody told me there was a test on this) I failed it, retook it and passed (I have the answers if anybody wants them). I logged into the AES to do the EEI and it would not let me as I am an administrator on the account. So I created myself another account a user, did my EEI and it generated a ------------- Wait for it------------Fatal error.

I logged out and retried it, it then told me I could not ship to myself. At this point I'm drinking and tired. so I gave up and called the help desk this morning. Needless to say she was not that helpful, but she was polite.

still no TIN.

My thoughts are that the system is needlessly complicated and the average user will struggle, especially when it come to the harmonized codes for the firearms and the ammo. But oddly enough my real struggle was with creating a password for the account(s) it must be 12 letters, a mix of upper and lower case numbers and symbols. but it cannot contain any dictionary words.

Great, a guy who can manage fairly well on the internet is having trouble. :rolleyes:

I'll suggest an excellent PW for you.

The guy who thought this up is: DuMb-a5-a_SACK_uF-ha88er5

"fairly well" I'll take that as a compliment today.

Three more calls and 2 beers later, Yahtzee. form submitted, now its waiting for approval. This new system is going to hurt international hunting.

The AES operator told me you are required to file with them for anything over $2,500 in value, even personal effects.