Finally got Ruger #1 416 Rem Mag

Cleveland48

AH veteran
Reaction score
Media
Always loved the looks of the #1 rifles. Picked this 416 Rem Mag the other day. Have 300 gr TSX and 350 TTSX to try out this weekend. Will keep my 350 speer mag tips for my 416 taylor improved. Recoil pad is hard as a rock haha, but maybe load development will go quickly. Any tips for the #1's will be greatly appreciated, this is my first one so I'm new to them.
20201029_211123.jpg

postoak

Silver supporter
Bronze supporter
AH fanatic
Reaction score
Media
Articles
Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
Life member NRA
Hunted
U.S.A., R.S.A, Namibia
Why not change out the recoil pad? What does the rifle weigh?

Cleveland48

AH veteran
Reaction score
Media
Why not change out the recoil pad? What does the rifle weigh?
Planning on changing it out they say the limbsaver #10001 fits. But I've also seen where some says it doesn't. Have not found one in stock anywhere yet, so may have to get a grind to fit one. Deer season is about 3 weeks away, so I gotta get started on a load quickly. I have no idea what it weighs, I dont even own scales.

Forrest Halley

AH fanatic
Reaction score
Media
Planning on changing it out they say the limbsaver #10001 fits. But I've also seen where some says it doesn't. Have not found one in stock anywhere yet, so may have to get a grind to fit one. Deer season is about 3 weeks away, so I gotta get started on a load quickly. I have no idea what it weighs, I dont even own scales.
Wrong. Grind a Pacmayr to fit. You'll be ahead. I had a limbsaver on my .375 and the Pacmayr is better. I have one on my .458 Lott too.

Reactions: WAB

Cleveland48

AH veteran
Reaction score
Media
Wrong. Grind a Pacmayr to fit. You'll be ahead. I had a limbsaver on my .375 and the Pacmayr is better. I have one on my .458 Lott too.
Thanks for the help, glad u mentioned it so I didn't buy the limbsaver and regret it.

Kevin Peacocke

AH fanatic
Reaction score
Media
Articles
Hunting reports
Africa