Finally got Ruger #1 416 Rem Mag

Cleveland48

AH enthusiast
Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
USA/Canada
Always loved the looks of the #1 rifles. Picked this 416 Rem Mag the other day. Have 300 gr TSX and 350 TTSX to try out this weekend. Will keep my 350 speer mag tips for my 416 taylor improved. Recoil pad is hard as a rock haha, but maybe load development will go quickly. Any tips for the #1's will be greatly appreciated, this is my first one so I'm new to them.
20201029_211123.jpg

Why not change out the recoil pad? What does the rifle weigh?

Why not change out the recoil pad? What does the rifle weigh?
Planning on changing it out they say the limbsaver #10001 fits. But I've also seen where some says it doesn't. Have not found one in stock anywhere yet, so may have to get a grind to fit one. Deer season is about 3 weeks away, so I gotta get started on a load quickly. I have no idea what it weighs, I dont even own scales.

Planning on changing it out they say the limbsaver #10001 fits. But I've also seen where some says it doesn't. Have not found one in stock anywhere yet, so may have to get a grind to fit one. Deer season is about 3 weeks away, so I gotta get started on a load quickly. I have no idea what it weighs, I dont even own scales.
Wrong. Grind a Pacmayr to fit. You'll be ahead. I had a limbsaver on my .375 and the Pacmayr is better. I have one on my .458 Lott too.

Reactions: WAB
Wrong. Grind a Pacmayr to fit. You'll be ahead. I had a limbsaver on my .375 and the Pacmayr is better. I have one on my .458 Lott too.
Thanks for the help, glad u mentioned it so I didn't buy the limbsaver and regret it.