Doping The Wind - I'm Clueless, Are You?

What do you think the wind speed is? Miles Per Hour

• 15-20

• 20-25

• 25-30

• 30-35

• 35-40

• 40-45

• 45-50

• other

Results are only viewable after voting.

BRICKBURN

Super moderator
Contributor
Lifetime titanium benefactor
AH ambassador
Reaction score
Media
Articles
Hunting reports
Africa
USA/Canada
Europe
Hunted
Namibia, South Africa, Botswana, Mozambique, Canada, USA, Mexico, England
I am not an expert, not a trained sniper. Wind is my nemesis when it comes to shooting as I am clueless on how to properly address it in longer range shots.

Apparently there are plenty who can join me in being clueless and some who are both clueless AND unethical. Noted in this thread.
http://www.africahunting.com/threads/rules-for-long-range-shooting.28474/

I have not put in the effort to research wind drift properly and my answer is to just keep getting closer until the wind is irrelevant.

This video depicts the wind conditions up high in the Drakensberg last winter when I was hunting Vaalie's.

For those of you who may have a clue: What do you think the wind speed is?
Multiply by 1.60934 for KPH.

Last edited:
Video fails to load. Server or network failure OR format not supported. ???

Video fails to load. Server or network failure OR format not supported. ???
You may want to reload the page, update your browser or try a different one.

Probably should have included I'm on an Android Cell Phone.

The important conclusion is that the wind speed is strong with even stronger gusts and the direction is extremely variable in the video clip. I would guess 20+ mph for constant speed with some gusts over 30+ mph. For direction it starts at about 20 degrees to the left of straight on, then switches to almost 90 degrees from the right and then to almost 0 degrees head on .... so, I agree with Brickburn that this is a get close enough to ignore the wind day (<150 yards with 300 win mag ... no clue with the bow!)