Africa
Mex/S.Amer
Europe
Member of
DSC Life Member, International Member PHASA
Hunted
Several of the lower 48, Alaska, South Africa, Ireland, Argentina, Peru
Here's the deal...

I've recently completed all of the coursework associated with a Doctorate in Business Administration that I have been pursuing for a couple of years, and have entered the dissertation phase of the degree program.

For those unaware, the difference in a PhD and a DBA is pretty simple.. A PhD culminates with research that contributes to knowledge or theory in a certain field/area.. Where a DBA takes theory and applies it to actual business practice for the purpose of trying to solve (or answer) known problems.

FWIW, I am pursuing the DBA solely for the purpose of learning. I am some sort of weird masochist that enjoys the learning process and beating myself to death with research and study, just for the sake of doing so lol.. I have zero interest in pursuing a career in academia, and putting DBA in my signature block will do nothing to advance my career (for those that don't know me personally, I currently serve in a senior executive capacity at a mid market sized defense firm.. there is literally no room left for advancement, and I have no interest in changing firms at this point to pursue the same seat within a larger organization.. I am very happy where I am at)...

Typically a DBA candidate will use his dissertation to research a problem specific to his own business/company or firm where he has very close ties..

Based on the above (no further advancement opportunities in my industry.. and my job already calls for me to problem solve at the highest level for my business).. I'm choosing to conduct research and attempt to problem solve for something I am personally interested in instead... the hunting industry in Southern Africa..