Differences Between Cape & Livingstone Eland

Diego Putignano

Reaction score
Member of
SCI Argentina Chapter
Hunted
Argentina, Namibia, South Africa
What is the appreciable difference between Cape eland and Livingston eland?

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm no expert in this field, but I had a run in with a very old eland a few years ago and I have done some research since.

There are two distinct species of eland: (1) the Lord Derby's Eland (Tragelaphus derbianus) and (2) the Common Eland (Tragelaphus oryx).

Lord Derby's is restricted to the west African and north central African regions: CAR, Cameroon, just into Chad and Sudan, and also Guinea, Senegal and the junction of neighbouring countries. The Common is has a wider range, across southern Africa and along the eastern side of the continent, perhaps as far up as the southern tip of Sudan and Ethiopia.

The Common Eland has three recognised subspecies if you do some basic research: Cape Eland in the south, Livingstone's in the north of their range, and East African along the north east of the range. As a matter of interest, the East African Eland is also known as Patterson's Eland. If you do a lot of research you will find reference to other "subspecies" but the taxonomic variance is largely that they are isolated populations (such as Tragelaphus oryx kaufmanni in the Caprivi). They all fall under the species of Common Eland.

watermark.php

Now in response to your post, the Livingstone's is touted as being a heavier animal, and the vertical stripes down the sides are generally much more prevalent - that's it. My PH in Zim thought this made them a much more magnificent trophy than the often faded blue Cape Eland bulls from down south. Having said that, I have met PH's and landowners in South Africa who claim to have Livingstone's bloodlines in their eland; this often means the trophy fee is higher...