Cutting Edge Raptor for Leopard?

eyedok

AH veteran
Reaction score
Hunting reports
Africa
Hunted
tanzania,namibia,couth africa
Anyone with experience of cutting edge raptors for leopard? I have a leopard/elephant hunt in Zambia next year and was considering a 230gr raptor bullet in .375 for leopard - i have no experience with this bullet but plan on trying it out on whitetails/muleys this fall and am hoping i can find a load that will have same point of impact as 300 gr cutting edge solid? Anybody used 230 raptor in .375?

I'd go with the 275 grain raptor which will have an easier chance for same point of impact as 300 gr solid. It has a closer BC to the solid and you won't have to play with the speed as much.

Are you using the same gun for elephant and leopard?

Was considering it, thought it would be easier. After seeing how a lion reacted to my Barnes TSX this year, i thought the Raptor sounded like a good bullet for leopard.

Leopards aren’t too hard to kill if hit in the right place. I’d make having a soft and a solid with a similar point of impact the priority.

Were it me, I would use a 300 gr SP with the same POI as my solid. You will shoot your leopard inside 100 meters, and too light and fragile a bullet may do extensive exit wound damage. A 300 in the correct spot will be decisive, and anything in the wrong spot will be a problem.

I shot a lion with this PH a couple months ago with a Barnes TSX that punched a hole and left us with a 150 yard follow up in the dark - so he recommended a more fragile bullet that would do more damage for leopard, he recommended a Nosler Ballistic Tip in my 300HH, but i thought of maybe just bringing one gun, i have alot of back problems and the double gun case and two guns was sure getting heavy, plus if taking two guns would like to take a double this time

I have used federal premium in 300 grain sledgehammer solids and trophy bonded bear claws as kind of a do it all set up.