AH enthusiast
Reaction score
Media
Member of
NHSA, SA Wingshooters, SA Hunters
Hunted
South Africa, Zimbabwe, Namibia
Hi Guys

What to know from some of the local guys if anyone has experience with CLAW bullets on buff?

500 gr 470 NE.

(Not the Trophy bonded bear claws I know they work.)

Cheers

Hello @Roan

We've hunted numerous buffalo with the CLAW bullets, and personally out of experience I can say you will make a good choice.

However, personally I don't think you can shoot a better bullet than a Swift A frame on a buffalo. Its what i use in my 470. for solids i prefer the Dzombo's of which i have 7 years experience using it in my own backup rifles, and believe its probably the best solid for big game on the market.

Its very important when going to hunt buffalo, not to use bullets you don't know, or to go test. Always use the tried, tested and proven bullets on big game, or in this case to talking to the AH community, which helps a lot!

Hope this helps.

Happy hunting

Hi

Thanks for info!

I have shot the Claws a lot just not on buff.

I am between them or Stewards.

Both regulate nicely in my gun.

I also like A Frames but they don't regulate in my rifle.

The other choice is a DGX they regulate O.K.

Hi

Thanks for info!

I have shot the Claws a lot just not on buff.

I am between them or Stewards.

Both regulate nicely in my gun.

I also like A Frames but they don't regulate in my rifle.

The other choice is a DGX they regulate O.K.

If it was me I'd use the CLAW bullets then, if A frames dont regulate.

I dont like the DGX that much, to soft.

Thanks a lot for help.

What do you load your 470?

I am on 106 gr S365.

Thanks a lot for help.

What do you load your 470?

I am on 106 gr S365.
Its a pleasure! Where are tou hunting?

I use S355, 94gr. Gets me up to 2200ftps. With that it regulates with my Aframes and Dzombos, and shoots both at the same place.

Heinrich should know he hunts a lot of buffalo!

Will give that load a try. Thanks.