Website
www.youtube.com
Media
Articles
Hunting reports
Africa
Hunted
Canada, Philippines, USA, South Africa
One of my bucket list items is a Buffalo bow hunt. I’m a Pastor and don’t have a lot of money, but I’m saving and hoping to plan something before I get too old.

I’m considering doing a cow hunt cause they’re about 1/3 the price of a bull. Does anyone have any input about that? Would the challenge Of the hunt be similarly? Would a cow shoulder mount still look good?

Thanks for your help!

I personally don't think it will look nice.

I have the perfect setup for you.

Email me and let's work with your budget and make it happen!

info@safaricoafrica.com

Welcome to AH! You would be surprised at how many due shoulder mounts and euros on the cows. It is the same exciting hunt as in some cases more difficult as the cows stay together so you have more eyes and noses. And that are just as salty as the bulls. Will PM you

One of my bucket list items is a Buffalo bow hunt. I’m a Pastor and don’t have a lot of money, but I’m saving and hoping to plan something before I get too old.

I’m considering doing a cow hunt cause they’re about 1/3 the price of a bull. Does anyone have any input about that? Would the challenge Of the hunt be similarly? Would a cow shoulder mount still look good?

Thanks for your help!

Agree that a cow buffalo mount doesn't present as well as a hard boss bull.

The other thing to keep in mind is that bowhunting dangerous game has a variety of challenges. Some people are adamant they want their trophy to be in the record book, meaning it needs to be killed by an arrow. That results in significantly higher risks because you're telling the PH not to shoot the animal. You're also going in after wounded game typically putting safety on the line which results in higher prices for "hazard pay". Then there are the challenges of stalking close enough with a bow which means the success odds go down versus rifle.