Can you bring back used ammunition brass from RSA for memorabilia purposes? If so, how?

Cody hunt4life

AH senior member
Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
NRA, SCI, Texas Trophy Hunters Association
Hunted
USA, Mexico, South Africa
I was curious if anyone has brought back the used brass from the ammo used in RSA for memorabilia purposes and if so how did you bring it back? Can it be brought back in your luggage? Can it be shipped? I like to use the actual empty cartridge inside shadow box frames of pictures with any trophies I have harvested and would like to do the same with my trophies I will be harvesting on my Africa trip the same as I have for majority of my other hunting trips. This is my first time hunting Africa (Eastern Cape Specifically). This may be a hard NO but if there is a way I’d like to get it back to the USA for the memorabilia I usually make with any trophy critter I have harvested with the photos inside shadow boxes. Picture attached was from a Mexico whitetail trip showing how I make these shadow boxes. Thanks in advance!
Image1594100985.704106.jpg

I take all of my used brass back home. I just put it back into the plastic cartridge holder after the hunt.

Shadow box is a neat idea! I brought mine back from the East Cape without any troubles. I just threw it in my stowed luggage and didn't say anything about it. My next trip was near Thabazimbi and I did the same thing. This time however, my luggage was opened and gone through. I assume it was because of the casings, as they were inside another bag and had been opened. The casings were still there, and nobody said anything, so I can't imagine it was that big of a deal. I live in Canada, not the US, but I can't see our government being more lenient than yours when it comes to such matters! Soon we won't be allowed water pistols!

I take all of my used brass back home. I just put it back into the plastic cartridge holder after the hunt.