Can I join the 9.3X62 club?

F. Vaccaro

AH fanatic
Reaction score
My almost 80yr old shoulder wants a bit or a rest. I have been reading most of the 9.3X62 threads & find it’s well thought of almost everywhere. I have a nice old Ruger #1 .375 H& H mag. that I traded for in 1987. This rifle & I have been on a lot of hunts together & I’m NOT selling or trading it. I’ve been loading my own ammo for over 60 yrs. Pondering my loading manuals, I find loads just above starting loads duplicate the 9.3X62. I loaded 10 rounds of 300gr Hornaday RN to just over 2200fps. Wanting to see if I was on paper I shot a couple 3 shot groups off the bench at 25 yds. Both groups had all 3 shots touching just below point of aim. Recoil was surprisingly light & shooting off a bench isn’t the way to lessen felt recoil. I thoroughly enjoyed the session & will load some 270gr bullets down a bit too!
so can I join the 9.3X62 club? Im

Methinks you just made half of the way to arrival ...;)
1650550481069.png

My almost 80yr old shoulder wants a bit or a rest. I have been reading most of the 9.3X62 threads & find it’s well thought of almost everywhere. I have a nice old Ruger #1 .375 H& H mag. that I traded for in 1987. This rifle & I have been on a lot of hunts together & I’m NOT selling or trading it. I’ve been loading my own ammo for over 60 yrs. Pondering my loading manuals, I find loads just above starting loads duplicate the 9.3X62. I loaded 10 rounds of 300gr Hornaday RN to just over 2200fps. Wanting to see if I was on paper I shot a couple 3 shot groups off the bench at 25 yds. Both groups had all 3 shots touching just below point of aim. Recoil was surprisingly light & shooting off a bench isn’t the way to lessen felt recoil. I thoroughly enjoyed the session & will load some 270gr bullets down a bit too!

Shooting off sticks or free hand, all my 286 gr loads are kittens. I've got Hornady SPRP 286 scooting along at about 2425 fps, also a kitten off sticks or free hand.