Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
USA/Canada
Europe
Hunted
England, USA: NY, PA, NC, SC, GA, AL, FL, TX, AZ, MT, WY, AK
I decided this year to go pretty heavy into archery after having a bow for last 10 years and only killing one deer and a couple pigs. Sooo, bought a Mathew’s, researched all the best arrows, heads, sights, etc. have a elk hunt coming up in September.

I settled on Magnus stinger 2 blade heads. I have no idea how to sharpen the blades before the hunt or going forward so looking for a semi dummy proof sharpening tool/process people recommend. For reference I carry a $30 knife daily that doubles as a pry bar, screwdriver etc so I’ve never had one last long enough to really sharpen that either. So be a complete newb to the process.

thanks for any tips/suggestions

The KME broadhead sharpener is very effective. I also use it to sharpen my hunting knives. I was so pleased with the result, I sharpened my kitchen knives with it.
The kit is useful and small. I have brought it on hunting trips as well as to friends houses to sharpen knives for them.

I use a Lansky system for anything fixed blade including stropping the blades of my SlickTricks with a fine stone. I keep it simple, 25 degree angle.

Check out the Ranch Fairy (not kidding) videos on broadheads and sharpening. The rest of his videos are worth watching too.

I recently purchased a couple of "Stay Sharp" guides ( https://staysharpguide.com/ )for my single bevel, two bladed broadheads, based on info from Lusk Archery videos. My Iron Will broadheads are 32 degree and my VPA broadheads are 35 degrees, so I had to purchase two different guides.

I'm familiar with ranch fairy but watching that video now to see what he recomends. Thanks!