Botswana Hunting Closure Case Study

Breaker Morant

AH senior member
Reaction score
Hunting reports
Africa
The Meera stuff really got me to thinking. I am new here so nobody really knows me. I am a farmer in the US who had the crop of a lifetime in 2012 so I decided to go on the trip of a lifetime. I will be hunting Matetsi in Zimbabwe for Buff/Plains game in June.

I also have some academic/part-time work background in Geography/biogeography/conservation. My true passion and gift is probably research and writing. I have long been trying to think of a research project I could perform as a hobby-if I published something great-if not-no harm.

I am strongly considering doing some kind of a long-term case study of Botswana's hunting closure and what happens to game outside the national parks. I suspect that I would have that topic mostly to myself as I doubt there will be much interest from the modern university system except at the margins.

Gathering info/interviews soon from PH's and so forth familiar with game populations in Botswana hunting concessions might be much easier than it will be later as they disperse across Africa.

Covers several of my passions-hunting/conservation/Africa. I think this is something that I could work on for the rest of my life. Of course, several research trips might be required to hunting areas across Africa-LOL

You may want to have a look at several of the University web sites in Southern Africa.

There is a large resource of interested people and research. It might be on the fringe over here but not over there.

Good luck.

http://www.environment.gov.za/sites/default/files/docs/programme_booklet_final.pdf

The latest in RSA.

The folks at this conference will provide you some contacts.

Another list:

DE WITT, L., VAN DER MERWE, P. & SAAYMAN, M. 2012: Responsible tourism in South African National Parks: a tourist perspective. 10th Annual Savanna science network meeting. South Africa: Kruger national park. 5-9 March 2012.