Leon123

AH senior member
Reaction score
Media
Member of
SAHGCA
Hunted
South Africa
Good day I am very new to shotguns and saw a mossberg 410 bolt action shotgun and love the look of it. Have never shot a bolt action shotgun how are they for just shooting some birds and so one most shotguns I have shot is pump action 12ga

A lot of kids in the states were given cheap bolt action .410 shotguns over the years as a first gun. Pretty awful choice. They fire such a small shot charge, that the .410 (in a very different gun) is really a caliber for experts - not beginners. They also tend to balance nothing like a real shotgun. All of which led to poor shooting and frustrated kids trying to learn to shoot. I would think of it as a behind the kitchen door garden gun to dispatch the occasional vermin (very small vermin) or snake. Some years ago, Browning made a run of extremely well made bolt action shotguns partially based upon their A-Bolt design. These were twelve-bore, had fully rifled barrels, and were designed for scope mounting. With the right slug, they make a wonderful 150 meter deer gun in areas where rifles are not allowed.

As a kid I was the recipient of a Mossberg Bolt Action 410 shotgun. As Red Leg said, it is a terrible gun for kids to learn on. Although it is still in my safe, it hasn't been fired for 60 years.

Savage makes an exceptional bolt action slug gun, the 220/212. Works very well for areas where rifles aren’t allowed.

My current deer gun is a savage 212.....handles just like a rifle and is very accurate out to 100 yds.

Cant hunt with rifles in my state....but even if you could i would still probably choose the slug gun......a lot of power and a lot of surface area on those big slugs.

Just wish they would make it in 3.5"......or 10gauge....