Articles
Hunting reports
Africa
USA/Canada
Member of
SCI
Hunted
USA, S. Africa
No, this isn't a story of a successful hunt but wasn't sure where to place this. I just spent a few days escaping from the hell on earth otherwise known as Phoenix in the summer, camping with the family and checking the photos on our trail cams for my upcoming elk hunt. This trip yielded an unexpected surprise on one of our cameras, a very pretty blonde color phase black bear. I'm no expert on bear hunting, but I think this color phase is pretty rare. For those who know, please confirm.

IMG_0165.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:
Well I have heard of color phase black bears in Arizona and New Mexico.

Idaho has red, brown, black and blonde color bears...anything is possible. Some areas due to genes and breeding....there are more of one color.

Very nice bear. I am not sure if it would be called a blonde though (dirty blonde maybe LOL). We have the odd blonde bear here in alberta but they are usually as light as that with a yellowish tinge to the back and points. Either way that is certainly a rare color. In the best areas here for colored bears where 30-50% are brown or cinnamon, blondes make up just a couple percent of the population.

Very nice bear. I am not sure if it would be called a blonde though (dirty blonde maybe LOL). We have the odd blonde bear here in alberta but they are usually as light as that with a yellowish tinge to the back and points. Either way that is certainly a rare color. In the best areas here for colored bears where 30-50% are brown or cinnamon, blondes make up just a couple percent of the population.