Blaser R8 & Dangerous Game?

Safariswestcam

AH senior member
Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
For years now I have relied on "Africa Hunting" as an invaluable tool and resource to venture down many of the rabbit holes I tend to find chasing research in search of an education on various topics, but this is my first time contributing or posting for that matter.

I am booked on a buffalo hunt for later this year in Tanzania, of which I am indescribably excited about. My pursuit and planning for this trip started a few years ago and along the way decided it was time but mostly as an excuse to upgrade to, what for me is, a really nice rifle. A few months ago after lots of reading found a Blaser R8 Kilombero chambered in 458 Lott and bought it without hesitation. Since the transaction and continuing to finalize our hunt, I have found that there is quite the dichotomy out there of people who either "Love" or "Hate" the Blaser, but of the segment that dislike them I am yet to find evidence of why other than its not "traditional". I get the concept of that statement but I am of the mind set that I want the most efficient tool possible and that at some point in history even the mauser action and smokless powder was once considered "not traditional" by someone.

Most recently in a conversation with a renowned gunmaker he said without hesitation, "you don't want to take a Blaser to shoot a buffalo... its not a dangerous game rifle"?? Its compact, interchangeable and faster than any other rifle I have shot (with the exception of a double), so my question is before I head to chase buff, can anyone tell me good or bad, what experience they have had with a Blaser and its proficiency as a Dangerous Game rifle?

Thank you in advance for any help in either waning or gaining confidence in my purchase!

Cheers,
Cam

IMG_1581.jpg

Blaser R8 - Why do African PH’s and Alaskan Bear Guides Choose Not To Use Blaser R8’s?