Beware Of Wolfgang Schenk Taxidermy, Germany

raamw

AH enthusiast
Reaction score
Media
Member of
NRA and Illinois Stae Rifle Assoc LIFE MEMBER, US Navu
I did a musk Ox hunt in Greenland in 2017, my Cape horns and remainder hide was forwarded to Schenk Taxidermy in Germany. He received my items for tanning and never mentioned that anything was wrong with the cape which was salted and frozen. He advised me that my items where ready 14 months latter and I needed to make payment which I did. I did not hear from him for a long period of time as did other hunters from the Greenland hunt. Pressure was used and he surrendered all the items to a third party that was hired from Denmark to pick up the items from Germany. The item eventually was delivered to me in 2019 and I turned them over to a Taxidermist who I have used with 50 years experience, When he re hydrated the cape for tanning the hair started slipping. Upon closed inspection when the hide softened he saw that the ears where not turned and the ears, eyes lips and other facial area where not properly fleshed for tanning, My Taxidermist stated in all his years he has never witnessed such an improperly prepared cape and the cape was not suitable for mounting due to the location and amount of slippage.. I presented these facts to Eric Schenk, (son) who runs his fathers operation and he sends a one liner that the items left his business in good shape. I have attempted multiple contacts with him and I can not get an explanation.

m5.jpg
m8.jpg

Last edited:
Surely all the fleshing..fat removal etc etc etc should have been done in Greenland after all of you shot your animals....and skins being salted and the usual before being shipped....also if they were salted how could they be frozen as you lot use salt in roads to stop them freezing...so :E Hmmm: ;)