Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
SCI Badgerland Chapter, NRA, Local Sportsmen's Club
Hunted
South Africa, Tanzania
Does anyone have experience with Barnes muzzleloader bullets? I particularly want to learn about accuracy and expansion for the MZ and the three Spitfire bullets.

I've been shooting Powerbelt bullets for a long time. The accuracy is good, but the expansion leaves a lot to be desired. I shot a buck last week that had half-inch, round entrance and exit holes.

My experience with Barnes rifle bullets has been excellent, but I have no experience with the muzzleloading components.

Thanks in advance for your help.

I’m interested in this too. I’ve used power belts (they work fine) and harvester bullets (better). I’d rather use a copper bullet.
What range was your shot? Are you using loose powder or pellets?

I have only used Barnes 285gr 50cal spitfires in front of 2 pellets of White Hot powder. The exit holes on whitetail deer and black bear are impressive. Shots are pass throughs so I have not recovered a projectile, but I have had no trouble recovering the animals that they hit! I would highly recommend them. I use a Thompson Center Encore rifle.

A few years ago I was elk hunting with a ML and using the Thor 300 grain bullet, these are actually a Barnes conical bullet that is legal here in Colorado. At 120 yards I had two complete pass through shots and one that broke ribs going in along with going out. I came to rest on the far side of the elk. Expansion was perfect.

The Thor bullet comes in 4 different diameters so you can match them to your barrel. For .50 caliber they come in 250 and 300 grain.

I have also used Barnes T-EZ in 250 grain over loose powder. The three deer that I have shot with it have all been one shot kills, pretty much bang flop. One mule deer buck made it about 20 yards. The shots have been out to 150 yards and all have been pass through shots with no bullets recovered.