Media
Articles
Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
sci ont hunter&angler
Hunted
canada usa namibia
anyone using a drop away rest ? I am presently using a whisker biscuit thinking of switching to a drop away .

thoughts?
terry
:confused::confused:

I use the Trophy Taker...drop away arrow rest and love it....I have been using it since 2004.

Hi Terry

I have a Vapor Trail drop away they seem to work really well, have never had any problems.

Best Regards
Louis van Bergen

I bought the Trophy Taker Smackdown FC rest last year. I'm pretty happy with it. It's virtually impossible for the arrow to find it's way out of the rest. Years ago before my break from bowhunting, I had an arrow fall of the rest as I was drawing on an elk, which of course did not find it's way to my freezer as a result. This feature therefore I find to be quite useful. I had just one problem with it that you should be aware of if you go this way. There is a string that is used to pull the arrow rest down. The string is attached to the rest at one end and to a limb at the other. The thing-a-ma-bob used to attach the string to the limb was not beveled and had something of a sharp edge. It didn't take but maybe a 100 shots before the string was cut rendering the rest useless.

Now to be fair, I honestly had one of the first of these to hit the market and it was a problem that I hope was relegated to those early versions. I would guess that Trophy Taker heard about it and fixed the issue.

Unlucky on the Elk Phil funny how that kind of a thing always happens at the most important moment, man those Elk sure are pretty LOL!

Best Regards
Louis van Bergen

I've used and tested a great many different aroow rests, all with variang degrees of success, but recently I've favoure the tried and true Whisker Biscuit. I only lose a mere 1fps but gain so much more. Accuracy is great and I now can relax about an arrow hitting the riser or jumping off the rest when Im stalking.