Media
Hunting reports
Africa
Asia/M.East
Member of
NRA endowment member/Life member
Hunted
All 6 Continents
Appreciate any thoughts on what scope some of you like best for my application: Bolt action .416 Rigby, short to medium range, dangerous game. Hopefully some buff hunters can comment on reticle......thanks.............FW Bill

I would get a low powered variable. It all depends on what you want to spend. I have a 1.5 x 5 Leupold on my 375 ruger and a 1x3 weaver on my 450/400 Ruger no.1.

Appreciate any thoughts on what scope some of you like best for my application: Bolt action .416 Rigby, short to medium range, dangerous game. Hopefully some buff hunters can comment on reticle......thanks.............FW Bill
I have very little experience hunting dangerous but will offer a few of my experiences setting up a few different rifles in .416 Rigby, .404 Jeffery, and .416 Remington. For anything in the Rigby you are going to have a fairly large action and depending on whether it has bases machined into action or not like a Sako or CZ could influence your mounting options. We are fortunate these days that there are several top manufactures that offer scopes with a large field of view on the bottom end and give you enough top end to handle most any situation you would want to try with that cartridge. A straight tube scope gives you lots movement front to back to get the perfect eye relief. A 1- whatever power gives a very wide field of view for shooting with both eyes open up close. With quality glass in 1-6 or even 1-8 now days you can't go wrong. If some low light shooting is on the menu then I would consider an illuminated reticle. I do not know what your budget is. I recently returned a Zeiss Victory 1-8 power intended for a .416 because the 34mm tube looked out of place to me. The illuminated dot on the Zeiss #4 reticle also got a bit fuzzy to my eye when turned up to the higher setting. I chose to go with the Swarovski Z8i and love it, except for the price. The Z8