Tra3

AH elite
Reaction score
Media
Member of
SCI
Hunted
Namibia
Fellow members I am in need of advice on what additional caliber for an R8 I should get for hippo, etc. I’ve posted the R8 caliber chart below. I already have a .375h&h barrel. I would prefer to stay in the standard contour barrel profile for another barrel as my R8 is not opened up for the thicker barrels. I understand I cannot take two rifles in the same caliber to Africa.

It looks like I’ll be returning to hunt again in 2022. My daughter would like to hunt a hippo. I prefer to carry a rifle when we are in the bush, so I need another barrel that will go on her R8 (or mine). It is likely that I will travel with the rifle case, so I’m limited to two rifles: 375H&H and ???. (She will already be in africa before I get there.)

I have no experience with the 9.3x62. I do not reload. Will that work? I see there is a blaser .375 mag… sounds like an impossible to get ammo caliber. Should I just stick with a .375 and a PG caliber and not worry about carrying a similar caliber as the PH will have a .500NE?

She is a small person, maybe 115 lbs, but tough and rides and jumps horses as her hobby. After seeing video of @BeeMaa shooting an R8 with a .416, that looked like a bit much of a horse for this guy.

I’ll will be inquiring of my PH for his advice as well.
I know some of you have gone through this though process of what barrel combos for an R8 for yourself and/or for an aspiring youth, so I’d appreciate suggestions. @One Day... @Philip Glass @375Fox @Ridgewalker

04D890D4-1019-49A1-8072-B545FC0B85ED.png

Last edited by a moderator:
My buddy and I went to Zim several years ago and shot hippo. I used a 416 Rigby and my buddy used a 375 H&H. Granted both were killed with headshots, but they were dead on the spot. I don't think she will have a problem with the 375 and proper bullets.