8x30/32 or 8x42

jpr9954

AH elite
Reaction score
Articles
Member of
NRA, SAF, SCI, DSC
I am thinking of upgrading my binoculars. I have a set of 8x42 Opmod binoculars which were made in China to Optics Planet's specs. They are OK and are easy to adjust. They weigh 26.75 oz.

What are the pro's and con's of going with something like a Zeiss Terra ED 8x32? They will be about 8-9 oz lighter and probably will have better glass. Is this enough of a savings in weight to make up for losing some field of view?

Would I be better to just upgrade to a better pair of 8x42s?

I'm not experienced in "glassing" like people out west as I hunt deer mostly from a tree stand or ground blind at the edges of small fields.

Thanks

Will they be primarily for the hunting you describe? Small is nice, but with a Bino harness the extra weight isn’t a big deal. I prefer a wider field of view and more light with a 42mm. A slightly heavier pair of binos is a bit less shaky.

bottom line is buy the best possible you can get, as they will likely outlast you!

Hi jpr,

I have, and have had, many binoculars and use them for the last 45 years for work in the range and for hunting.
One of them is a Meopta Meostar 8x32. One of my sons have a Zeiss Terra 8x32. Both are good, being the Meopta Meostar clearly better.
I don´t think there is a better general use binocular than a GOOD 8x30/8x32.

Good luck!

CF

Will they be primarily for the hunting you describe? Small is nice, but with a Bino harness the extra weight isn’t a big deal. I prefer a wider field of view and more light with a 42mm. A slightly heavier pair of binos is a bit less shaky.

bottom line is buy the best possible you can get, as they will likely outlast you!
I am thinking more about what I would want to take with me to Africa - Eastern Cape or Namibia - than hunting from a stand in North Carolina.

Hi jpr,