7mm 175 Partition or Sierra Gameking

gatekeeper

AH member
Reaction score
Member of
NRA
Does anyone have any experience with the 7mm Rem Mag with the 175gr Sierra Gameking bullet? I am considering the Nosler Partition, or possibly this bullet. I am interested to know if at the velocities the 7mm Rem Mag produces, around 2900ish, does the Sierra hold up well? Does it perhaps expand more violently than the Partition, or is the Partition still a better all around design? I know the Partition is proven, but have found little on the Sierra terminal performance, just that being a Sierra, it is very accurate. Thanks.

I have no experience with the Gameking, have only read/heard mostly good things about it. The Partition will always be one of my favortie bullets. I've had some rifles that were hard to find an accurate load with it which would be my only complaint. But it's always worked well for me including on taking a Shiras moose with my 7mm some 16 years ago.

No contest. The Partition. This is hunting not match shooting and I have gotten very small groups with Partitions and Swift A-Frames.
If it were me I would use Swift A-Frames and a bit lighter. On my 2 trips and the one with my daughter we used Swift A-Frames with great success and no lost animals or tracking.

I've had excellent results from 175gr Partitions from my 7mm Weatherby (nearly identical ballistics) on elk and moose. Would pick them over the Sierra everytime, even if you have to give up a bit of accuracy.

If I was taking a 7mm mag to Africa, it would be 175 grain bullets, either Nosler Partions or Swift A-frames, whichever your rifle shoots better

gatekeeper,

i have used the 175 game king bullet in my 7mm mag and the 160gr nosler. the nosler was much superior as a game bullet. the game king was more accurate, but a very soft/slightly built bullet.
i suspect i would have liked the 175 gr nosler even better. several of the 175 game kings lost their core/jacket separation.