4 Stable Sticks Preliminary Review

jcnelsn1

AH veteran
Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
I ordered the carbon 4 stable sticks a couple weeks ago and have had the chance to shoot off them a few times. Previously was using 3 legged bog sticks. My early impression of the 4 stable sticks is they are fantastic and significantly more steady than the 3 legged sticks. Very light weight also and easy to deploy. I plan to continue to shoot from both and start keeping track of hit percentage from each but pretty confident hit rate on longer shots will be noticeably better with the quad sticks.

I’ve been using them since 2017. They are great. I’ve learned a couple really important things shooting with them though. You need to focus on getting the back of the rifle in first then the forearm just falls into place. I see too many videos of people trying to put the front of rifle in first or set the rifle on both supports at same time. Shooting with a sling will give you a lot more ability to move because now you can hold the sling and front two sticks instead of forearm. This lets you make small movements with your thumb but also lets you pivot 360 degrees with rifle still on sticks. I’ve also found bearing weight into the sticks reduces your accuracy. The straighter you can stand and less weight you bear into the sticks (while still able to control recoil) the more accurate you’ll be. I really like these sticks, but you have to learn to shoot differently than a tripod particularly to be fast with them.

Quad sticks are the way to go. For me 500 yard shots are no problem off quad sticks. Tripods don’t help me very much and in some circumstances I could shoot better free handed.
Philip