AH veteran
Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
Europe
Hunted
US, Namibia, South Africa, Greenland
I am a heavy-for-caliber bullet guy, and have used 350 grain Woodleigh Weldcore HD‘s with great effect on a couple of Cape buffalo. Thinking about dry land hippo, I understand solids are the rule. I’m looking for bullet/cartridge recommendations, but would like to stick with .375 H&H, if possible, thanks.

I’m no expert, and I haven’t even stayed at a Holiday Inn Express in many years, but everything I’ve read here and in other reputable sources is that the premium (modern) solids are the hydrostatic solids. I’m sure there will be recommendations to go with a .40+ caliber, but I imagine many hippo have been taken with a .375 in recent years. I’ve also read that a .375 with a hydrostatic solid will have very few competitors when it comes to penetration. So if you put it in the right spot, it will hit what you want it to.

Hoping for a successful elephant hunt with some time left over, I've indicated I'd like to hunt hippo on dry land should time permit. I'll have CEB solids loaded for both my 458 Lott and 375 H&H for both elephant and hippo.

I had some great accuracy with the Woodleigh hydro 300gr (paired with 300gr PP's) in my H&H with IMR-4350, but ran out of case capacity very quickly.

Can one still get the Hydros after the Woodleigh fire?

Probably any of the flat nosed or cup nosed solids will be fine. Barnes or Swift would be my choice.

Decent solids are a lot easier to find than reliable softs. IMO you really can’t go wrong with most of the available solids. The technology is really old and the bugs are worked out. I’ve used Hydros and Nosler Solids. Both worked fine. Hornady DGS solids are the only ones that disappointed. The core came out the back end when testing them on sandbags.

I've shot my latest hippo on land (2022) using a single 300Gr Barnes TSX. Worked flawlessly.