375 H&H Solid/Soft Combo Run Off

TOBY458

AH legend
Reaction score
Media
Articles
Hunting reports
Africa
As many of you know, I'm going on a hunt in Zimbabwe next year. The game to be hunted includes Tuskless Elephant, Cape Buffalo, Hippo On Land, and PG. The question is IF, and that's a big IF, I decided to use a 375 and only travel with one rifle, what solid/soft combo should I choose?
I have Woodleigh 350gr PP Softs paired with Woodleigh 350gr Solids on one hand.
And either 300gr Barnes TSX or Swifts, paired with Cutting Edge brass meplate solids on the other hand.
Many have said that the 350gr bullets are a big step up from 300gr for buffalo and Elephant, but when it comes to mono metal solids, I'm pretty much stuck with 300gr, since NF is no longer readily available in the USA.
I have had great success with both Barnes TSX and Swift A Frame for softs on Buffalo, but I have no experience with solids on any game.
So really it's a question of Woodleigh 350gr Steel Jacketed Solids, VS Cutting Edge 300gr flat point Brass solids for Elephant and Hippo on land. And, 300gr Swifts or TSX VS Woodleigh 350gr PP Softs for buffalo and PG.
I want to stay with the same bullet weight for both solids and softs, so I prefer either 300gr or 350gr for both.
Pictured on left. 300gr Swift, TSX, CE Solid.
Pictured on right. 350gr Woodleigh Solid, and PP Soft.
Thoughts?

20210809_204246.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
My M70 .375H&H shoots the 250gr and 300gr Trophy Bonded Bear Claws from Federal, nearly the same POA/POI. The 300gr doesn't group quite as good as the 250gr, but the 250gr is sub MOA with the 300gr being around 1". After 200 yards you can notice a difference between the 2.