eugeneb

AH senior member
Reaction score
Deals & offers
Media
Hunting reports
Australia/NZ
Hi

Will be guiding some bowhunters in 2017 for aus water buff. Bought a sako kodiak 375 h&h purely for backup.

Would appreciate recommendations re "best" factory ammo for this purpose.

Like to hear from people that has taken or been around more than 10 buff/ele/hippo taken.

Thanks & regards
Eugene

Like to hear from people that has taken or been around more than 10 buff/ele/hippo taken.

seeing as im not experienced enough to give you advice...

here are two people i know have the experience off the top of my head:
@KMG Hunting Safaris
@HeinrichH

however, if my advice is good enough id suggest using ammunition that fires flat nosed monolithic solids. the top of my list would be Federal ammunition loaded with Woodleigh Hydrostatic solids. however i believe Swift now offers its own ammunition with their new sold which looks very interesting.

-matt

@PaulT could offer an opinion from experience.

Hi Eugene,
Matt has hit the nail on the head. I would certainly go with the flatnose solids. The round nose solids has been around for years, before manufacturers developed the flat nose designs, so it does not mean that they won't work. The flat nose however is a better design.
The premium brands that he has mentioned will do the trick. If you are in Aus, Woodleigh would be the obvious choice. I only use them for softs, but they are a premium bullet so will get the job done. Even their SP bullet, is not as soft as everyone makes them out to be. Had a hunter take two Cape Buffalo bulls with then out of a 470NE. This is with the SP, and not the PP, which has the protected point. On both buff, he broke the near shoulder and the bullet was recovered under the skin on the opposite side.

Take Care,
Marius Goosen